Stage 2 | Subject outline | Version control

Australian Languages — Revival Language Stage 2
Subject outline

Version 4.0
For teaching in 2024. Accredited in August 2019 for teaching at Stage 2 from 2020.

Stage 2 | Subject outline | Assessment design criteria

Assessment design criteria

The assessment design criteria are based on the learning requirements and are used by:

  • teachers to clarify for students what they need to learn
  • teachers and assessors to design opportunities for students to provide evidence of their learning at the highest possible level of achievement.

The assessment design criteria consist of specific features that:

  • students should demonstrate in their learning
  • teachers and assessors look for as evidence that students have met the learning requirements.

For this subject the assessment design criteria are:

  • communicating
  • understanding and analysis
  • identities and ecologies.

The specific features of these criteria are described below.

The set of assessments, as a whole, must give students opportunities to demonstrate each of the specific features by the completion of study of the subject.


The specific features are as follows:

C1 Use of language to communicate accurately and appropriately in [Revival Language]. 
C2 Collaboration with others.

Understanding and Analysis  

The specific features are as follows:

UA1 Understanding of the relationship between written and oral systems in [Revival Language].
UA2 Knowledge and understanding of the relationship between language, culture, and community.
UA3 Understanding and analysis of language and cultural features.

Identities and Ecologies

The specific features are as follows:

IE1 Reflection on own learning from and with Aboriginal people and language resources.
IE2 Exploration and explanation of the context of the revival of [Revival Language].
IE3 Reflection on the relationship between the revival of [Revival Language] and the processes of cultural renewal and reconciliation.