Stage 2 | Subject Outline | Version control

Integrated Learning Stage 2
Subject outline

Version 4.0 - For teaching in 2024.
Accredited in August 2017 for teaching at Stage 2 from 2018

Stage 2 | Subject outline | assessment-design-criteria

Assessment design criteria

The assessment design criteria are based on the learning requirements and are used by:

  • teachers to clarify for students what they need to learn
  • teachers and assessors to design opportunities for students to provide evidence of their learning at the highest possible level of achievement.

The assessment design criteria consist of specific features that:

  • students should demonstrate in their learning
  • teachers and assessors look for as evidence that students have met the learning requirements. 

For this subject the assessment design criteria are:

  • application and understanding
  • inquiry, analysis, and evaluation
  • collaboration and communication.

The specific features of these criteria are described below.

The set of assessments, as a whole, must give students opportunities to demonstrate each of the specific features by the completion of study of the subject.

Application and Understanding 

The specific features are as follows:

AU1 Understanding and development of knowledge, concepts, and skills in relation to the program focus.
AU2 Application of a range of knowledge, concepts, and/or skills for a purpose.
AU3 Development and application of a chosen capability or chosen capabilities.

Inquiry, Analysis, and Evaluation 

The specific features are as follows:

IAE1 Exploration of relevant information, concepts and ideas, using a variety of sources.
IAE2 Analysis of concepts, ideas, and skills development from different perspectives. 
IAE3 Evaluation of the student’s own learning through self-assessment and feedback from others.

Collaboration and Communication 

The specific features are as follows:

CC1 Collaboration with others.
CC2 Communication of ideas and informed opinions.