Stage 1 | Subject Outline | Version control

Integrated Learning Stage 1
Subject outline

Version 4.0 - For teaching in 2024.
Accredited in August 2017 for teaching at Stage 1 from 2018.

Stage 1 | Subject outline | assessment-design-criteria

Assessment design criteria

The assessment design criteria are based on the learning requirements and are used by teachers to:

  • clarify for students what they need to learn
  • design opportunities for students to provide evidence of their learning at the highest possible level of achievement.

The assessment design criteria consist of specific features that:

  • students should demonstrate in their learning
  • teachers look for as evidence that students have met the learning requirements.

For this subject the assessment design criteria are:

  • application and development
  • inquiry and reflection
  • collaboration and communication.

The specific features of these criteria are described below.

The set of assessments, as a whole, must give students opportunities to demonstrate each of the specific features by the completion of study of the subject.

Application and Development

The specific features are as follows:

AD1 Development of knowledge, concepts, and/or skills in relation to the program focus.
AD2 Application of a range of knowledge, concepts, and/or skills for a purpose.
AD3 Development and application of a chosen capability or chosen capabilities.

Inquiry and Reflection 

The specific features are as follows:

IR1 Exploration of relevant information, concepts, and ideas using a variety of sources.
IR2 Reflection of the student’s own learning through self-assessment and feedback from others. 

Collaboration and Communication 

The specific features are as follows:

CC1 Collaboration with others.
CC2 Communication of ideas and opinions.