Stage 2 | Subject Outline | Version control

Aboriginal Studies Stage 2
Subject outline

Version 4.0 - For teaching in 2024
Accredited in May 2016 for teaching at Stage 2 from 2018.

Stage 2 | Subject outline | assessment-design-criteria

Assessment design criteria

The assessment design criteria are based on the learning requirements and are used by:

  • teachers to clarify for students what they need to learn
  • teachers and assessors to design opportunities for students to provide evidence of their learning at the highest possible level of achievement.

The assessment design criteria consist of specific features that:

  • students should demonstrate in their learning
  • teachers and assessors look for as evidence that students have met the learning requirements.

For this subject the assessment design criteria are:

  • knowledge and understanding
  • deconstruction, analysis, and synthesis
  • evaluation, collaboration, and reflection.

The specific features of these criteria are described below.

The set of assessments, as a whole, must give students opportunities to demonstrate each of the specific features by the completion of study of the subject.

Knowledge and Understanding 

The specific features are as follows:

KU1 Knowledge and understanding of narratives as told by Aboriginal peoples.
KU2 Contextual application of knowledge and understanding of narratives.

Deconstruction, Analysis, and Synthesis 

The specific features are as follows:

DAS1 Deconstruction and analysis of how the past influences the present and the future.
DAS2 Deconstruction and analysis of experiences that are of significance to Aboriginal peoples and/or communities.
DAS3 Synthesis of learning from and with Aboriginal peoples and/or communities.

Evaluation, Collaboration, and Reflection 

The specific features are as follows:

ECR1 Evaluation of and reflection on own learning.
ECR2 Collaboration in planning and implementing a social action.