SACE capabilities

When you study the SACE you continue to develop capabilities to live, learn, work, and participate successfully in an ever-changing society.

The following seven general capabilities underpin the SACE:

  • literacy
  • numeracy
  • information and communication technology (ICT) capability
  • critical and creative thinking
  • personal and social capability
  • ethical understanding
  • intercultural understanding.

These seven capabilities will gradually replace the five SACE capabilities of communication, citizenship, personal development, work, and learning.

This means that some subjects are still based on five capabilities, while others, including the Stage 1 English and mathematics subjects, are based on the seven general capabilities.

All SACE subjects will be revised progressively and will incorporate the seven general capabilities.

More information