Requirements of the SACE

There are two stages of the SACE:

  • Stage 1, which usually begins in Year 10 with the Personal Learning Plan, and continues through Year 11.
  • Stage 2, which is usually undertaken in Year 12.

Each subject or course that is successfully completed earns 'credits' towards the SACE. Students receive a final grade from A to E for each Stage 1 subject and a final grade from A+ to E– for each Stage 2 subject.

To qualify for the SACE students must:

  • complete a minimum of 200 credits
  • achieve a C grade or better in the Stage 1 compulsory requirements
  • achieve a C– grade or better in the Stage 2 compulsory requirements.

The compulsory requirements are:

  • Personal Learning Plan — 10 credits at Stage 1
  • literacy — at least 20 credits from a range of English subjects (Stage 1 or Stage 2)
  • numeracy — at least 10 credits from a range of mathematics subjects (Stage 1 or Stage 2)
  • Research Project — 10 credits at Stage 2
  • other Stage 2 subjects — at least 60 credits from a range of Stage 2 subjects.

The remaining 90 credits can be gained through additional Stage 1 or Stage 2 subjects or Board-recognised courses of a student's choice (such as vocational education and training (VET) or community learning).