Stage 1 | Subject outline | Version control

Spiritualities, Religion, and Meaning Stage 1
Subject outline

Version 1.0
Accredited in June 2021 for teaching at Stage 1 from 2022.  Editorial changes may be made during the implementation process.
Stage 1 Religion Studies will be taught for the last time in 2022.

Stage 1 | Subject outline | Assessment design criteria

Assessment design criteria

The assessment design criteria are based on the learning requirements, and are used by teachers to:

  • clarify for the student what they need to learn
  • design opportunities for students to provide evidence of their learning at the highest possible level of achievement.

The assessment design criteria consist of specific features that:

  • students should demonstrate in their learning
  • teachers look for as evidence that students have met the learning requirements.

For this subject, the assessment design criteria are:

  • Exploration and analysis
  • Action and reflective practice.

The set of assessments, as a whole, must give students opportunities to demonstrate each of the specific features by the completion of their study of the subject.

Exploration and Analysis

The specific features are as follows:

EA1 Develop and share understanding of spiritual and/or religious perspectives using inquiry and communication skills
EA2 Analyse ways in which spiritual and/or religious perspectives influence communities
EA3 Evaluate how personal and shared meaning is influenced by spiritual and/or religious concepts, experiences, and beliefs.

Action and Reflective Practice

The specific features are as follows:

ARP1 Design social‑justice actions, drawing on the principles of one or more spiritual or religious traditions
ARP2 Collaborate with others
ARP3 Evaluate the impact of personal and/or shared action using reflective practice.