IEA | Teachers | Certified Educational Assessors

Certified Educational Assessors

The Certified Educational Assessor course is designed for educators who are seeking to strengthen their expertise in assessment knowledge and practice. Successful completion of the course provides recognition as a Certified Educational Assessor (CEA).

Participants will have the opportunity to develop evidence that could be used to meet the Australian Professional Standards for Teachers at the Highly Accomplished or Lead Teacher career stage.

Course structure

The Certified Educational Assessor course comprises five modules and a case study [DOC 742KB]. Each module provides eight hours of professional learning. Six hours of this time is presented by the IEA, with participants completing two hours of additional supporting activities and assessments to consolidate their learning.

Please choose a workshop session for each of the modules, noting that some of the workshops are offered in two parts. Before you book in to any CEA modules, please complete the CEA registration form.

Code Module Date / Time
CEA1 Principles of Assessment Thursday, 17 January 2019
9 am - 4 pm
CEA2 Assessment - Purpose and Design Friday, 18 January 2019
9 am - 4 pm
CEA3 Judgment Tuesday, 11 December 2018
9 am - 4 pm

Monday, 21 January 2019
9 am - 4 pm
CEA4 Data and providing effective feedback Tuesday, 22 January 2019
9 am - 4 pm
CEA5 Moderation and Comparability Monday, 10 December 2018
9 am - 4 pm

Friday, 1 March 2019
9 am - 4 pm


In 2018/2019, the cost of the Certified Educational Assessor course is $1,155 (ex. GST) per person payable upon registration. Participants are expected to complete all five modules in 18 months, and submit the case study within 6 months of completion of the final module.

RPL arrangements*

Successful participants who complete the CEA course may apply for recognition of prior learning (RPL) towards a Graduate Certificate or Masters degree at the University of Adelaide, University of South Australia or Flinders University*. A participant may be granted RPL for up to one unit (or equivalent) in either a Graduate Certificate or Masters degree qualification. All applications must be made directly to the university.

* Recognition arrangements will be determined by each of the universities on an individual basis.


Registration for the CEA courses is a two-step process:

  1. Please complete the online CEA registration form
  2. Once you have completed the form, please proceed to the CEA workshops page to select your preferred session times.

Please note - in the instance that 10 or more staff in the same school/institution register to undertake the CEA course, the course may be delivered onsite. Please contact the IEA to discuss the needs of your school.